International Youth Day 2015

The idea of declaring an “International Youth Day” was proposed by a group of young people gathered in Vienna, Austria at the United Nations World Youth Forum in 1991. Subsequently, a Resolution, proclaiming August 12 as the International Youth Day was recommended during the World Conference on Youth Ministers in Lisbon in 1998.

Accordingly, in the year 1999, the United Nations General Assembly endorsed this recommendation and designated 12th August as the International Youth Day.

Since then, the UN Member States based on the themes declared by the UN for each year started commemorating the International Youth Day by way of organizing different programs focusing on youth and with their participation.

The Theme of the International Youth Day 2015 is “Youth Civic Engagement”. The State Ministry of Youth Affairs and The National Youth Services Council in collaboration with the UN country team especially the UN Youth Mechanism organized a Panel Discussion to celebrate this important day which was held at the Auditorium of the Ministry.

All the panelists were youth leaders and they spoke on the following topics in line with the theme of the International Youth Day.

a) Youth and Gender
b) Youth Labour Rights
c) Reintegration of Vulnerable Youth
d) Youth Political Participation and
e) Youth Volunteerism

Ms. Nilanthi Sugathadasa, Secretary, State Ministry of Youth Affairs and Mr. Subinay Nandy, The UN Resident Coordinator and the Resident Representative of the UNDP graced the occasion. The government officials, Heads of several UN agencies, representatives of the Donor Agencies, Youth related NGOs, and about 150 youth leaders representing different youth organisations participated at the event.

Ms. Nilanthi Sugathadasa, Secretary, State Ministry of Youth Affairs and Mr. Subinay Nandy , UN Resident Coordinator delivered the Welcome addresses. A message from the UN Secretary General Hon. Ban Ki Moon was read out by a youth leader. Panel discussions were moderated by Ms. Nushalya Rajapaksha and Mr. Thilina Panduwawala, UN Youth Delegates of the year 2015. Vote of Thanks was delivered by Mr. Adhil Bakeer Marker, Director, International Affairs, National Youth Services Council.

Copyright © 2017 State Ministry of Youth Affairs. All Rights Reserved.
Developed By Pooranee Inspirations

Last Update: 14-09-2015 07:16